CloudCenter-API

cloud center API

 Introduction

In this topic you will find general information about the cloud center API, the range of functions as well as the skills that are useful when using the API functions.

 Range of functions of d.velop cloud center

The d.velop cloud center is the self-service user interface for the d.velop cloud. App builders can register and manage their apps here, allowing end users to purchase them for their d.velop cloud.

 Technical background information

The cloud center is a tool that communicates with your app over the Internet. As an app builder you therefore should be familiar with the following web technologies: - HTTPS - RESTful - JSON

For secure communication between the cloud center and your app, you should know the hash function SHA256 and the authentication code HMAC.

In the following chapters you will find out more about the App Secret and the signature process. The App Secret and the signature process ensure that the communication between your app and the cloud center is secure.

 App Secret basics

The App Secret consists of randomly created bytes which have been converted into a Base64 string. Before you can use the App Secret, you need to convert (decode) the Base64 string into bytes. Many programming languages have libraries that will do the converting for you.

The App Secret is used to secure the communication between the tenant and your app (see Tenant Header). In addition, it is also used to secure the events that have been sent by the cloud center.

After creating the app in the cloud center, you can see the App Secret as a Base64 string in plain text on the editing page of your app under Technical Details. You should start by copying the App Secret and placing it in your app. After the first modification, your App Secret will only be displayed in encrypted form. In case you have forgotten to copy the App Secret, you can have a new App Secret created under Technical Details at any time. To do so, switch to the editing mode and select the button Generate new App Secret. You can have a new App Secret created in the following dialog. Copy the App Secret and place it in your app, otherwise your app will not be reachable.

 Signature process basics

To ensure that an incoming request originates from the d.velop cloud center, you need to check the validity of the signature in your app. To do so, you use the same process to create the signature based on the App Secret, which is known only to you and the d.velop cloud center. If your calculated signature matches that from the request, you can be sure that the request was sent by the d.velop cloud center.

Header request

The following headers must be supplied to your app during the request by the cloud center:

  • Authorization: Bearer token with the calculated signature in hexadecimal format.
  • x-dv-signature-headers: Comma-separated list (without blank spaces) of all header names used for the signature in lowercase letters. The list also contains the proprietary header name.
  • x-dv-signature-algorithm: Algorithm used for the signature. Currently, this is DV1-HMAC-SHA256.
  • x-dv-signature-timestamp: Timestamp with UTC time as per ISO 8601 (format: "yyyy-MM-ddTHH:mm:ssZ", e.g.: 2019-08-23T08:49:42Z).

 Implementing the signature process

Below you will find an example telling you more about the steps required in the signature process.

App Secret used:


    Rg9iJXX0Jkun9u4Rp6no8HTNEdHlfX9aZYbFJ9b6YdQ=

Sample name of your app:


    myapp

Payload/request body used:


    {"type":"subscribe","tenantId":"id","baseUri":"https://someone.d-velop.cloud"}\n

Note

Please note the appended "\n". Some parsers cut the new line from the output which will result in a different hash value.

Timestamp used:


    2019-08-09T08:49:42Z

 Sorting and normalizing the headers

All headers listed under x-dv-signature-headers are sorted alphabetically. For further processing, the headers are strung together according to the following pattern:

Schema:


    Lowercase(header1) + ":" + Trim(value1) + "\n" +
    Lowercase(header2) + ":" + Trim(value2) + "\n" +
    ...
    Lowercase(headerN) + ":" + Trim(valueN) + "\n"

Example


    "x-dv-signature-algorithm:DV1-HMAC-SHA256\nx-dv-signature-headers:x-dv-signature-algorithm,x-dv-signature-headers,x-dv-signature-timestamp\nx-dv-signature-timestamp:2019-08-09T08:49:42Z\n"

 Normalizing the request

In this step the parts of the request are listed in normalized form, separated by line breaks. A SHA256 hash of the payload will be appended aswell. You can find further information about generating hash values in the next paragraph.

Schema:


    HTTP-Verb            + "\n" +   // GET, PUT, POST...
    Pfad der Resource    + "\n" +   // With leading slash
    Querystring          + "\n" +   // Without ?, urlencoded
    Headers              + "\n" +   // Normalized header string
    SHA256(Payload)                 // SHA256-Hash of request body as hex value

Example


    "POST\n/myapp/dvelop-cloud-lifecycle-event\n\nx-dv-signature-algorithm:DV1-HMAC-SHA256\nx-dv-signature-headers:x-dv-signature-algorithm,x-dv-signature-headers,x-dv-signature-timestamp\nx-dv-signature-timestamp:2019-08-09T08:49:42Z\n\nc2a6fefc93b809eeaf2f069504fe8e02b0f3341b3c5e488e6a402ca45301415c"

 Creating a hash value in hexadecimal format

Use the hash algorithm SHA256 and the library of the respective programming language to create the hash values. To create the hash value, calculate an SH256 hash from the normalized request string first. The hash is then converted into a hexadecimal value with lowercase letters.

Example


    fcecaac3dae4d40d6f2a065678f59f4794dfbe8497fe9ca825f737299887ebf4

 Calculating the signature

The calculated hexadecimal request string and the App Secret are now used to calculate a checksum by means of the HMAC SHA256 procedure. The result is again converted into a hexadecimal value with lowercase letters.

Note

The App Secret is Base64 encoded and has to be decoded before use.

Example


    02783453441665bf27aa465cbbac9b98507ae94c54b6be2b1882fe9a05ec104c

 Verifying the signature

The signature verification consists of two parts. You can use the timestamp in the header x-dv-signature-timestamp to check whether the request is a current one. The timestamp refers to the UTC time the request was sent to your app. To compensate for time differences between servers, requests are valid for the period of 5 minutes before and 5 minutes after the indicated timestamp. If the indicated time falls outside of the time window, the signature is to be considered invalid and the request needs to be rejected with the HTTP status "403 Forbidden". The app now calculates a comparison signature using the described signature process. If the calculated signature does not match the hexadecimal value from the authorization header, the request likewise needs to be rejected with the HTTP status "403 Forbidden".

Note

Remove the word "Bearer" prior to the comparison to obtain the purely hexadecimal value.

 Using the API functions

The cloud center provides an API which you can use to view various information, such as when your app was purchased.

 App lifecycle event basics

To let you know when your app was purchased by a customer, for example, the cloud center issues four event types (subscribe, unsubscribe, resubscribe and purge), which are described below. You can find out how to receive and process these events in chapter "Receiving events".

Image of lifecycle-events

In some cases an event will be sent to your app multiple times, e.g. when a customer purchases an app which is dependent on your app. For this reason, you always need to check first whether you have already received the event. If you have not received the event yet, you need to treat it according to the event type.

 Event type "subscribe"

You will receive this event as soon as a customer purchases your app. Depending on the function of your app, initializing your app will be necessary. For instance if you need to store customer-specific information in your database.

 Event type "unsubscribe"

You will receive the unsubscribe event when the customer does not want to use your app anymore and discontinues it. Initially, this is merely a notice to you stating that the customer no longer uses your app. As soon as the unsubscribe event has been sent, your app will no longer be available in the customer’s d.velop cloud. The customer therefore cannot interact with your app anymore. It is imperative that you do not delete the customer’s data (see: event type purge).

 Event type "resubscribe"

You will receive the resubscribe event when a customer reconsiders his/her decision after discontinuing your app and would like to continue using it.

 Event type "purge"

After a customer has discontinued the app and the grace period has elapsed, your app will receive the purge event. This approach protects the customer against premature deletion of his/her data after discontinuing the app. You need to delete all data of the customer as soon as you receive this event. The event will tell you which data you need to delete.

 Receiving events

In this section you will find information about the prerequisites for receiving events.

HTTP request

Your app must provide a resource called "dvelop-cloud-lifecycle-event".

The request by the cloud center looks as follows:


    POST  https://myapp1.example.com/myapp1/dvelop-cloud-lifecycle-event
    Content-Type: application/json

Event body

The request by the cloud center contains the following body in the form of a JSON document.

  • "type": Contains the respective event type. Your app needs to perform the corresponding actions depending on which type was sent.
  • "tenantId": This is the unique identification number of the customer’s d.velop cloud.
  • "baseUri": The customer’s d.velop cloud can be reached at this address. The baseUri is always supplied in absolute form and without a slash at the end.

Example


{
    "type": "subscribe",
    "tenantId": "xyz",
    "baseUri": "https://mandant.d-velop.cloud"
}

 Validating the events

The request is secured by the described signature mechanism to assure you that the request is really coming from the cloud center. As soon as you receive an event, you need to check whether the request has been properly signed (see Signature process basics).

CloudCenter-API

cloud center API

 Einleitung

In diesem Thema findest du allgemeine Informationen zur cloud center-API, dem Funktionsumfang sowie zu den Kenntnissen, die hilfreich beim Verwenden der API-Funktionen sind.

 Funktionsumfang von d.velop cloud center

Das d.velop cloud center ist die Self-Service-Oberfläche für die d.velop cloud. App Builder können hier ihre Apps registrieren und verwalten, sodass Endkunden diese für ihre d.velop cloud buchen können.

 Technische Hintergrundinformationen

Das cloud center ist ein Tool, welches über das Internet mit deiner App kommuniziert. Daher solltet du dich als App Builder mit folgenden Webtechnologien auskennen: - HTTPS - RESTful - JSON

Damit die Kommunikation zwischen dem cloud center und deiner App abgesichert ist, sollten dir die Hash-Funktion SHA256 und der Authentifizierungscode HMAC bekannt sein.

In den nachfolgenden Kapiteln erfährst du mehr über das App Secret sowie den Signaturprozess. Das App Secret und der Signaturprozess stellen sicher, dass die Kommunikation zwischen deiner App und dem cloud center abgesichert ist.

 Grundlegendes zum App Secret

Das App Secret besteht aus zufällig zusammengestellten Bytes, welche in einen Base64-String umgewandelt wurden. Bevor du das App Secret verwenden kannst, musst du den Base64-String in Bytes umwandeln (decodieren). Viele Programmiersprachen besitzen Bibliotheken, die das Umwandeln für dich übernehmen.

Das App Secret wird zur Absicherung der Kommunikation des Mandanten mit deiner App verwendet (siehe Mandanten Header). Zudem wird es auch zur Absicherung der Events verwendet, die vom cloud center gesendeten wurden.

Nach der Erstellung der App im cloud center siehst du das App Secret als Base64-String im Klartext auf der Bearbeitungsseite deiner App im Bereich technische Details. Du solltest als erstes das App Secret kopieren und in deiner App hinterlegen. Nach der ersten Änderung wird dein App Secret nurnoch verschlüsselt dargestellt. Solltest du vergessen haben, das App Secret zu kopieren, kannst du dir jederzeit im Bereich technische Details ein neues App Secret erstellen lassen. Wechsle dazu in den Bearbeitungsmodus und wähle die Schaltfläche Neues Secret generieren aus. Im folgenden Dialog kannst du dir ein neues App Secret erzeugen lassen. Kopiere das App Secret und hinterlege es in deiner App, da deine App sonst nicht mehr erreichbar ist.

 Grundlegendes zum Signaturprozess

Um sicherzustellen, dass eine eintreffende Anfrage vom d.velop cloud center stammt, musst du in deiner App die Signatur auf Gültigkeit prüfen. Dazu erstellst du nach dem gleichen Prozess die Signatur basierend auf dem App Secret, welches nur dir und dem d.velop cloud center bekannt ist. Stimmt deine berechnete Signatur mit der aus der Anfrage überein, kannst du dir sicher sein, dass die Anfrage vom d.velop cloud center gesendet wurde.

Anfrage Header

Folgende Header müssen bei der Anfrage des cloud centers an deine App angeliefert werden:

  • Authorization: Bearer Token mit der berechneten Signatur in hexadezimaler Schreibweise.
  • x-dv-signature-headers: Kommaseparierte Liste (ohne Leerzeichen) aller für die Signatur genutzten Header-Namen in Kleinbuchstaben. Die Auflistung enthält auch den eigenen Header-Namen.
  • x-dv-signature-algorithm: Für die Signatur verwendeter Algorithmus. Zur Zeit steht dort DV1-HMAC-SHA256.
  • x-dv-signature-timestamp: Zeitstempel in UTC-Zeit nach ISO 8601 (Format: "yyyy-MM-ddTHH:mm:ssZ", z.B.: 2019-08-23T08:49:42Z).

 Implementation des Signaturprozesses

Im folgenden erfährst du anhand eines Beispiels mehr über die notwendigen Schritte im Signaturprozess.

Verwendetes App Secret:

   
    Rg9iJXX0Jkun9u4Rp6no8HTNEdHlfX9aZYbFJ9b6YdQ=

Beispielname deiner App:

   
    myApp

Verwendeter Payload/Anfrage Body:

   
    {"type":"subscribe","tenantId":"id","baseUri":"https://someone.d-velop.cloud"}

 Sortieren und Normalisieren der Header

Es werden alle unter x-dv-signature-headers angegebenen Header alphabetisch sortiert. Zur weiteren Verarbeitung werden die Header nach folgemdem Muster aneinandergereiht:

Schema:

   
    Lowercase(header1) + ":" + Trim(value1) + "\n" +
    Lowercase(header2) + ":" + Trim(value2) + "\n" +
    ...
    Lowercase(headerN) + ":" + Trim(valueN) + "\n"

Beispiel

   
    "x-dv-signature-algorithm:DV1-HMAC-SHA256\nx-dv-signature-headers:x-dv-signature-algorithm,x-dv-signature-headers,x-dv-signature-timestamp\nx-dv-signature-timestamp:2019-08-09T08:49:42Z\n"

 Normalisierung der Anfrage

In diesem Schritt werden die Bestandteile der Anfrage in normalisierter Form mit einem Zeilenumbruch als Trennzeichen aufgelistet.

Schema:

   
    HTTP-Verb            + "\n" +   // GET, PUT, POST...
    Pfad der Resource    + "\n" +   // With leading slash
    Querystring          + "\n" +   // Without ?, urlencoded
    Headers              + "\n" +   // Normalized header string
    SHA256(Payload)                 // SHA256-Hash of request body as hex value

Beispiel

   
   "POST\n/myapp/d-velop-lifecycle-event\n\nx-dv-signature-algorithm:DV1-HMAC-SHA256\nx-dv-signature-headers:x-dv-signature-algorithm,x-dv-signature-headers,x-dv-signature-timestamp\nx-dv-signature-timestamp:2019-08-09T08:49:42Z\n\ndb5142ec6d2cd31ee985e7729b764546f29e187990d0f113720f90bab265311f"

 Bilden eines Hashwerts in Hexadezimal

Verwende zum Erstellen der Hash-Werte den Hash-Algorithmus HMAC SHA256 und die Bibliothek der jeweiligen Programmiersprache. Zum Bilden des Hashwertes wird zuerst ein SHA-256-Hash aus dem normalisierten Anfrage-String berechnet. Der Hash wird anschließend in einen Hexadezimalwert mit Kleinbuchstaben umgewandelt.

Beispiel

   
    edcf568f1bd446ec93a56189bcd22b96d8566be54c2b6c15c24089b87308f87e

 Berechnen der Signatur

Aus dem berechneten hexadezimalen Anfrage-String und dem App Secret wird nun mittels HMAC-SHA-256-Verfahren eine Prüfsumme berechnet. Das Ergebnis wird wiederum in einen Hexadezimalwert mit Kleinbuchstaben umgewandelt.

Beispiel

   
    baa8415d308089d654530849e9c42afd1c1996fd8871a7e0dcf32672d215cf59

 Prüfen der Signatur

Die Prüfung der Signatur besteht aus zwei Teilen. Mithilfe des Zeitstempels im Header x-dv-signature-timestamp siehst du, ob die Anfrage aktuell ist. Der Zeitstempel bezieht sich auf die UTC-Zeit beim Absenden der Anfrage an deine App. Um Zeitdifferenzen zwischen Servern auszugleichen, sind Anfragen für den Zeitraum von 5 Minuten vor bzw. 5 Minuten nach dem angegebenen Zeitstempel gültig. Wenn die angegebene Zeit außerhalb des Zeitfensters ist, muss die Signatur als ungültig betrachtet und die Anfrage mit dem HTTP-Status "403 Forbidden" abgelehnt werden. Durch anwenden des beschriebenen Signaturprozesses berechnet die App nun eine Vergleichssignatur. Stimmt die berechnete Signatur nicht mit dem hexadezimalen Wert aus dem Authorization-Header überein, so ist die Anfrage ebenfalls mit dem HTTP-Status "403 Forbidden" abzulehnen.

Hinweis

Hinweis Entferne vor dem Vergleich das Wort "Bearer", um den reinen hexadezimalen Wert zu erhalten.

 Verwenden der API-Funktionen

Das cloud center stellt eine API-Schnittstelle zur Verfügung, mit der du beispielsweise sehen kannst, wann deine App gebucht wurde.

 Grundlegendes zu den Ereignissen des App-Lebenszyklus

Damit du weißt, wann deine App beispielsweise von einem Kunden gebucht wurde, veröffentlicht das cloud center vier Ereignistypen (subscribe, unsubscribe, resubscribe und purge), die nachfolgend beschrieben werden. Was du tun musst, um diese Ereignisse zu Empfangen und zu verarbeiten, erfährst du im Kapitel "Empfangen von Ereignissen".

Image of lifecycle-events

In manchen Fällen wird ein Ereignis mehrfach an deine App gesendet, z.B. wenn ein Kunde eine App bucht, die abhängig von deiner App ist. Daher musst du immer vorher prüfen, ob du das Ereignis bereits erhalten hast. Wenn du das Ereignis noch nicht erhalten hast, musst du es dem Ereignistypen entsprechend behandeln.

 Ereignistyp "subscribe"

Du empfängst dieses Ereignis sobald ein Kunde deine App bucht. Je nach Funktion deiner App ist eine Initialisierung deiner App notwendig. Beispielsweise, wenn du kundenspezifische Informationen in deiner Datenbank speichern musst.

 Ereignistyp "unsubscribe"

Das unsubscribe-Ereignis erhältst du, wenn der Kunde deine App nicht mehr verwenden möchte und kündigt. Dies ist für dich erstmal nur ein Hinweis darauf, dass deine App vom Kunden nicht mehr genutzt wird. Sobald das unsubscribe-Ereignis gesendet wurde, ist deine App nicht mehr in der d.velop cloud des Kunden verfügbar. Der Kunde kann daher nicht mehr mit deiner App interagieren. Auf keinen Fall darfst du die Daten des Kunden löschen (siehe: Eventtyp purge).

 Ereignistyp "resubscribe"

Das resubscribe-Ereignis empfängst du, falls ein Kunde sich nach dem Kündigen umentscheidet und deine App doch weiter verwenden möchte.

 Ereignistyp "purge"

Nachdem ein Kunde die App gekündigt hat und die Karrenzzeit abgelaufen ist, empfängt deine App das purge-Ereignis. Dieses Vorgehen schützt den Kunden vor einer vorzeitigen Löschung seiner Daten, nachdem er gekündigt hat. Sobald du dieses Ereignis empfängst musst du alle Daten des Kunden löschen. Welche Daten du löschen musst, kannst du dem Ereignis entnehmen.

 Empfangen von Ereignissen

In diesem Abschnitt erhältst du Informationen zu den Voraussetzungen für den Empfang von Ereignissen.

HTTP-Anfrage

Deine App muss eine Ressource namens "dvelop-cloud-lifecycle-event" zur Verfügung stellen.

Die Anfrage vom cloud center sieht wie folgt aus:

   
   POST  https://myapp1.example.com/myapp1/dvelop-cloud-lifecycle-event
   Content-Type: application/json

Event Body

Die Anfrage des cloud centers enthält nachfolgenden Body in Form eines JSON-Dokuments.

  • "type": Enthält den jeweiligen Eventtypen. Je nachdem welcher Type gesendet wurde, muss deine App entsprechende Aktionen ausführen.
  • "tenantId": Dies ist die eindeutige Identifikationsnummer der d.velop cloud des Kunden.
  • "baseUri": Unter dieser Adresse ist die d.velop cloud des Kunden erreichbar. Die BaseUri wird immer absolut und ohne Slash am Ende mitgeliefert.

Beispiel

   
{
    "type": "subscribe",
    "tenantId": "xyz",
    "baseUri": "https://mandant.d-velop.cloud"
}

 Überprüfen der Ereignisse

Damit du sicherstellen kannst, dass die Anfrage wirklich vom cloud center kommt, ist die Anfrage mit dem beschriebenen Signatur-Mechanismuses abgesichert. Sobald du ein Ereignis empfängst, musst du prüfen, ob die Anfrage richtig signiert ist (siehe Grundlegendes zum Signaturprozess.